homesucheuebersicht
   



to the Group Homepage
to the Institute Homepage
to the Department Homepage
to the Faculty Homepage
to the University Homepage

Staff
Research
Publications
Technical Equipment

 
Elastin Research Group
 

 

Elastin Research Group

 

Research
Personnel
Instrumentation
News

 

 

Work group "SkinNext" at Fraunhofer IMWS in Halle

 

The former elastin research group "Elastin" headed by Dr. Christian Schmelzer, that was located at the Martin Luther University Halle, moved to the Fraunhofer Institute for Microstructure of Materials and Systems IMWS in Halle (Saale) in July 2016. The new group named “SkinNext" is funded by the Fraunhofer Internal Program Attract and focuses on developing and fabricating novel protein-based biomaterials for medical applications based on structural proteins of the extracellular matrix such as collagens and elastin.


Elastin isolated from bovine aorta. Elastic fibers can
be stretched up to 150 % before rupture.

The main aspects of the present research and development are design and characterization of protein-based biomaterials. Biomaterials in general serve as substitutes for body’s own tissues in medicine and are for example used as wound dressings or implant coatings. The materials need to fulfil the requirements of biocompatibility, immunological innocuousness and, according to the intended use, also biological as well as mechanical stability and resistance. For this purpose, the biomaterials developed by our group are based on extracellular structural proteins. Those cross-linked biopolymers possess the above-mentioned properties and give body tissues elasticity, tensile strength and resilience. We are especially making use of the unique mechanical properties of elastin to fabricate elastic biomaterials by using techniques such as electrospinning. The simultaneous use of elastin with other (structural) proteins is used to design composite materials for specific applications.


In vitro cross-linked tropoelastin as base material for
novel biomaterials .

A further step in stabilizing the biomaterials and tuning their properties is the inducement of covalent cross-links and the control of the cross-linking degree. Therefore we are interested in the development of novel reagents that initiate the native lysine-based cross-linking pattern found in elastin and collagen. We are using a broad spectrum of methods and techniques for the characterization of protein-based biomaterials such as high-resolution mass spectrometry, electron and atomic force microscopy, µ- and nano-CT, biochemical tests, amino acid analysis and cell culturing to determine all important mechanical, structural and biochemical parameters.


Members of the work group SkinNext at Fraunhofer IMWS:

Group leader
Dr. rer. nat. Christian Schmelzer
Phone: 0345-5589-116
e-mail: christian.schmelzer@imws.fraunhofer.de


Scientific staff

Dr.-Ing. Andrea Friedmann
Phone: 0345-5589-258
e-mail: andrea.friedmann@imws.fraunhofer.de

Tobias Kürbitz, M. Sc. (visiting scientist, HS Anhalt)
Phone: 0345-5589-268
e-mail: tobias.kuerbitz@imws-extern.fraunhofer.de

Tobias Hedtke, M. Sc.
Phone: 0345-5589-287
e-mail: tobias.hedtke@imws.fraunhofer.de

Arpita Desai, M. Sc.
e-mail: arpita.desai@imws.fraunhofer.de


Technical staff

Werner Petzold
Phone: 0345-5589-253
e-mail: werner.petzold@imws.fraunhofer.de


Postal address

Fraunhofer-Institut für Mikrostruktur von Werkstoffen und Systemen IMWS
Walter-Hülse-Str. 1
06120 Halle (Saale)
Germany

Keywords: Elastin Forschung Hautalterung Alterung Haut elastische Fasern Falten Elastinfasern www.elastin-orschung.de

 
 
 
Webmaster:  Christian Schmelzer Updated 01.07.2017
 
     
  Copyright       Disclaimer       Impressum       Contact
© 2002 Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät I - Biowissenschaften
Institut für Pharmazie

 
 
Deutsch Version
 
Zur Universität

homesucheuebersicht
   


zur Gruppe
zum Institut
zum Fachbereich
zur Fakultät
zur Universität

mitarbeiter
forschung
publikationen
technische ausstattung
 
Arbeitsgruppe Elastinforschung
 

 

Arbeitsgruppe Elastin

 

Forschung
Mitarbeiter
Methoden
Neuigkeiten

 

 

Arbeitsgruppe "SkinNext" am Fraunhofer IMWS in Halle

 

Die bisherige, an der MLU ansässige Arbeitsgruppe Elastin um Dr. Christian Schmelzer befindet sich seit 1. Juli 2016 am Fraunhofer-Institut für Mikrostruktur von Werkstoffen und Systemen IMWS in Halle. Die Arbeitsgruppe „SkinNext“, die durch das Fraunhofer-interne Forschungsprogramm Attract gefördert wid, beschäftigt sich vorranging mit der Entwicklung, Herstellung und Charakterisierung neuartiger Biomaterialien für die biomedizinische Anwendung ausgehend von extrazellulären Strukturproteinen wie Elastin und Kollagen.


Isoliertes Elastin aus Rinderaorta. Elastin kann aufgrund
seiner mechanischen Eigenschaften auf 150 % seiner
Ursprungslänge gedehnt werden.

Biomaterialien dienen in der Medizin dem Ersatz oder Unterstützung von körpereigenem Gewebe und werden beispielweise als Wundauflagen oder zur Beschichtung von Endoprothesen eingesetzt. Die Materialien müssen dabei so gestaltet sein, dass sie biologisch kompatibel, immunologisch verträglich und je nach Anwendungsgebiet eine entsprechende biologische und mechanische Stabilität besitzen. Hierfür eignen sich insbesondere Strukturproteine der extrazellulären Matrix wie Elastin oder Kollagen. Diese vernetzten Biopolymere besitzen eine hohe biologische Stabilität und verleihen Geweben wichtige mechanische Eigenschaften wie Elastizität, Spannkraft und Zugfestigkeit. Vor allem die einzigartigen mechanischen Eigenschaften von Elastin werden in unserer Arbeitsgruppe genutzt, um elastische Biomaterialien durch Methoden wie Elektrospinnen herzustellen. Die gleichzeitige Verarbeitung von Elastin zusammen mit anderen (Struktur-)Proteinen bietet die Möglichkeit, gezielt Kompositmaterialien zu designen und für die jeweilige Anwendungen zu optimieren.


In vitro quervernetztes Tropoelastin für die Verwendung
als Biomaterial.

Die Stabilisierung der Materialien durch verschiedene Arten der kovalenten Quervernetzung und dessen Regulierung stellt dabei eine weitere Möglichkeit der gezielten Beeinflussung der Materialeigenschaften dar. Hierbei forschen wir auch an Methoden zur Induktion natürlicher Quervernetzungen, um eine Alternative zur Verwendung toxischer Quervernetzer zu schaffen. Mithilfe verschiedenster Techniken wie hochauflösende Massenspektrometrie, Elektronen- und Rasterkraft-mikroskopie, µ- und Nano-CT, biochemischen Tests, Aminosäureanalyse und Zellkulturversuchen werden alle wichtigen mechanischer, strukturellen und biochemischen Materialeigenschaften charakterisiert.


Mitglieder der Arbeitsgruppe SkinNext am Fraunhofer IMWS:

Gruppenleiter
Dr. rer. nat. Christian Schmelzer
Tel.: 0345-5589-116
E-Mail: christian.schmelzer@imws.fraunhofer.de


Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter

Dr.-Ing. Andrea Friedmann
Tel.: 0345-5589-258
E-Mail: andrea.friedmann@imws.fraunhofer.de

Tobias Kürbitz, M. Sc. (Gastwissenschaftler HS Anhalt)
Tel.: 0345-5589-268
E-Mail: tobias.kuerbitz@imws-extern.fraunhofer.de

Tobias Hedtke, M. Sc.
Tel.: 0345-5589-287
E-Mail: tobias.hedtke@imws.fraunhofer.de

Arpita Desai, M. Sc.
E-Mail: arpita.desai@imws.fraunhofer.de


Technische Mitarbeiter

Werner Petzold
Tel.: 0345-5589-253
E-Mail: werner.petzold@imws.fraunhofer.de


Postanschrift

Fraunhofer-Institut für Mikrostruktur von Werkstoffen und Systemen IMWS
Walter-Hülse-Str. 1
06120 Halle (Saale)

Keywords: Elastin Forschung Hautalterung Alterung Haut elastische Fasern Falten Elastinfasern www.elastin-forschung.de

 
 
 
Webmaster:  Christian Schmelzer Aktualisiert 01.07.2017
 
     
  Copyright       Disclaimer       Impressum       Kontakt
© 2002 Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät I - Biowissenschaften
Institut für Pharmazie

 
 
English version
 
Zur Universität